Connect with us


Four Cleveland Guardians Earn Gold Glove Awards Setting Franchise Record

Photo by Charles Murray


Guardians official press release

Major League Baseball and the Rawlings Sporting Goods Company tonight announced the recipients of the 2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards.  For the first time in club history, four Cleveland Guardians earned awards, each for the first time in their careers, RHP SHANE BIEBER, 2B ANDRÉS GIMÉNEZ, LF STEVEN KWAN and CF MYLES STRAW.

It marks the first time an American League club has garnered four awards since the 2003 Seattle Mariners (St. Louis netted five in 2021) and just the second in the last 47 seasons (since 1976). Overall, the Guardians are the eighth American League team to net four Rawlings Gold Glove Awards in the same season since its inception in 1957. Cleveland’s previous club record of three came in 2000 (SS Omar Vizquel, 3B Travis Fryman, 2B Roberto Alomar).

Shane Bieber becomes the first pitcher in Cleveland history to win a Rawlings Gold Glove, compiling a season fielding pct. of .969 (32TC/1E).  He finished second in the league in putouts (32) and fourth with three Defensive Runs Saved.

Andrés Giménez led AL second basemen in Defensive Runs Saved (16), finished second in the league in total chances (554) and third with an .807 zone rating.  For the year he posted a .984 fielding pct. (554TC/9E) in 125 games at second base. He is the first Cleveland second baseman to earn a Rawlings Gold Glove since Cesar Hernandez in 2020 and just the third overall in club history (Roberto Alomar, 1999-2001).

Guardians Gold Glove

Photo by Luigi Musto

Steven Kwan, who was recently named a unanimous winner of a SIS Fielding Bible Award, led all Major League left fielders in Defensive Runs Saved (21) and zone rating (.929) in 2022. He led all American League left fielders in total chances (233), compiling a .991 (233TC/9E/7 assists) fielding pct. for the season. He becomes just the sixth rookie to win a Rawlings Gold Glove since 1990 and just the second in Cleveland history, joining Sandy Alomar, Jr. in 1990. The last rookie to win a Rawlings Gold Glove was Luis Robert in 2020 with the White Sox. He and Straw are the first Cleveland outfielders to net the award since 2008 (CF Grady Sizemore) and Kwan is just the second left fielder in club history to win a Rawlings Gold Glove (Minnie Minoso, 1959).


Myles Straw, also a Fielding Bible Award recipient, led all center fielders with 24 Good Fielding Plays and 7 Outfield Arm Runs Saved, leading all Major League outfielders with 385 total chances while compiling a .995 (385TC/2E) fielding pct. He finished second in Defensive Runs Saved (17) among Major League center fielders and led the AL with 12 outfield assists.

Guardians gold glove

Photo by Luigi Musto

Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are tabulated from votes by respective league coaches and managers (75%) and SABR fielding statistical data (25%).

I attended Malone College to pursue a Journalism career in Politics...I have found that writing about Sports is a lot more fun! I am an avid NBA, MLB & NFL fan. Find me on Twitter @nats_sportschat



  1. Pingback: Myles Straw and Steven Kwan Discuss Guardians' Gold Glove Defense

  2. Pingback: Cleveland Guardians: A Tale of 17 Rookies

  3. Pingback: Cleveland's Top Ten Sports Stories in 2022!

  4. Pingback: Cleveland Guardians Fans Get Ready it's Time to Play Ball

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Show Your Team Spirit

NEO Sports Insiders Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NEOSI newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Cleveland sports news.

Recent Comments


More in Guardians