Connect with us

Ohio State

Marvin Harrison Jr. is Bound for NYC As a Heisman Trophy Finalist

Heisman trophy

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Marvin Harrison Jr.’s sensational season added yet another chapter on Monday evening when he was announced as a finalist for the Heisman Trophy and will travel to New York City this weekend for the ceremony, which occurs Saturday evening at the Appel Room at Jazz at Lincoln Center.

Ohio State has a record-tying seven Heisman Trophy winners (Notre Dame, Oklahoma and USC) and it has had eight additional Heisman Trophy finalists, including six finalists in the last six years.

Prior to 1982, only the Heisman winner was invited to New York so there was no such thing as a Heisman finalist. Starting in 1982, multiple candidates were invited to New York as finalists to take part in the live broadcast that accompanied the announcement of the winner.

Ohio State’s Heisman Trophy Winners and Finalists

2023 – Marvin Harrison Jr.
2022 – C.J. Stroud
2021 – C.J. Stroud
2019 – Justin Fields and Chase Young
2018 – Dwayne Haskins
2006 – Troy Smith*
1996 – Orlando Pace
1995 – Eddie George*
1984 – Keith Byars
1975 – Archie Griffin*
1974 – Archie Griffin*
1955 – Howard “Hopalong” Cassady*
1950 – Vic Janowicz*
1944 – Les Horvath*

*Heisman Trophy Winner

Harrison Jr., who is also a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award, last week was named the Big Ten’s 2023 Offensive Player of the Year and Wide Receiver of the Year. He’s tied for second nationally with 14 touchdown receptions and also has top-10 rankings in yards (1,210) and yards per game (100.9). His eight 100-yard games this season is a school record, as is his streak of eight consecutive games with a touchdown reception.

In Ohio State’s career record books, Harrison Jr. is sixth all-time in receiving yards (2,613), sixth in receptions (155), third in touchdown catches (31) and first in 100-yard games (15). In addition to being the program’s first unanimous All-American at wide receiver, he is also the first player to have multiple 1,000-yard receiving seasons.

Harrison Jr. is just the fourth wide receiver in the last 15 years to make the trip to New Yock City as a Heisman Trophy finalist. The other three were Amari Cooper (Alabama), Dede Westbrook (Oklahoma) and 2020 winner DeVonta Smith (Alabama).

Ohio State Official Press Release

I attended Malone College to pursue a Journalism career in Politics...I have found that writing about Sports is a lot more fun! I am an avid NBA, MLB & NFL fan. Find me on Twitter @nats_sportschat

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Show Your Team Spirit

NEO Sports Insiders Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NEOSI newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Cleveland sports news.

Recent Comments


More in Ohio State