Connect with us


Kluber, Ramirez, Francona all finalists for major BBWAA Awards

CLEVELAND– Indians fans still have plenty to root for as the Baseball Writers Association of America announced the finalists for the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, Cy Young and Most Valuable Player awards on Monday.

Cleveland has nominees in three of the categories. Corey Kluber has been named a finalist for the American League Cy Young, while Jose Ramirez is a finalist for AL MVP. Terry Francona is also a finalist for Manager of the Year.

This season was a standout for Kluber, who won the AL Cy Young back in 2014. He posted a 2.25 ERA during the 2017 season, the lowest in baseball. He was also tied for first place in wins (18), shutouts (3), complete games (5), and led the league in strikeout-to-walk ratio (7.361). He also had 15 double-digit strikeout games, putting him at second in MLB.

Ramirez led the league with 56 doubles. He also became just the second Indians player to record at least 100 runs, 50 doubles, 25 homers and 15 steals in one season. During his standout year, Ramirez also earned a starting spot in the All-Star Game. He was the first position player for Cleveland to earn a starting position since Juan Gonzalez did it in 2001, and was the youngest fan-voted starter since Sandy Alomar in 1990.

Francona guided the Indians to 102 wins. It was the most successful regular season of his managerial career, and just the third time in franchise history that the Tribe eclipsed the century mark in wins. If he wins, it will be his third Manager of the Year award.

MLB Network will televise the awards announcements exclusively. The complete list of finalists as well as the schedule for the announcements is below, courtesy of an MLB Network press release.

Monday, November 13, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Andrew Benintendi, Aaron Judge, Trey Mancini

NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Josh Bell, Cody Bellinger, Paul DeJong

Tuesday, November 14, 6:00 p.m. ET:  

AL Manager of the Year: Terry Francona, A.J. Hinch, Paul Molitor

NL Manager of the Year: Bud Black, Torey Lovullo, Dave Roberts

Wednesday, November 15, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Cy Young Award: Corey Kluber, Chris Sale, Luis Severino

NL Cy Young Award: Clayton Kershaw, Max Scherzer, Stephen Strasburg

Thursday, November 16, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Most Valuable Player: Jose Altuve, Aaron Judge, Jose Ramirez

NL Most Valuable Player: Paul Goldschmidt, Giancarlo Stanton, Joey Votto

Ashley is a former basketball player who covers the Cleveland Cavaliers, Indians and high school sports for NEO Sports Insiders. She also covers the Cavs for SB Nation's Fear The Sword. Ashley is a 2015 graduate of John Carroll University and previously worked in political journalism. You can follow her on Twitter @AshleyBastock42

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.





Show Your Team Spirit

NEO Sports Insiders Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NEOSI newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Cleveland sports news.

Recent Comments


More in Cleveland