Connect with us


Cleveland Indians set Opening Day roster

SEATTLE– The Cleveland Indians have officially announced their Opening Day roster.

Michael Brantley, Gio Urshela, Ryan Merritt and Danny Salazar will all start out the year on the 10-day disabled list, retroactive to March 26. As expected, Brandon Guyer has made the Major League roster.

The Tribe also purchased the contracts of Rajai Davis and Matt Belisle from Triple-A Columbus, and designated Abraham Almonte and Ben Taylor for assignment.

Finally, the team reassigned Mike Napoli, Evan Marshall, Jack Murphy, Drew Maggi and Jeff Beliveau to minor league camp.

Below is the full Opening Day roster, via press release:

Pitchers: Cody Allen, Trevor Bauer, Matt Belisle, Carlos Carrasco, Mike Clevinger, Nick Goody, Corey Kluber, Zach McAllister, Andrew Miller, Tyler Olson, Dan Otero, Josh Tomlin

Catchers: Yan Gomes, Roberto Perez

Infielders: Yonder Alonso, Edwin Encarnacion, Erik Gonzalez, Jason Kipnis, Francisco Lindor, Jose Ramirez

Outfielders: Lonnie Chisenhall, Rajai Davis, Brandon Guyer, Tyler Naquin, Bradley Zimmer

Disabled List: Cody Anderson, Michael Brantley, Ryan Merritt, Danny Salazar, Gio Urshela

Ashley is a former basketball player who covers the Cleveland Cavaliers, Indians and high school sports for NEO Sports Insiders. She also covers the Cavs for SB Nation's Fear The Sword. Ashley is a 2015 graduate of John Carroll University and previously worked in political journalism. You can follow her on Twitter @AshleyBastock42

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Show Your Team Spirit

NEO Sports Insiders Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NEOSI newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Cleveland sports news.

Recent Comments


More in Cleveland