Connect with us


Alternate Venues Confirmed for 2018 Scotiabank Concacaf League Round of 16 Matches of CD Walter Ferretti and Diriangen FC

Miami (Friday, June 15, 2018) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) announced today the alternate stadiums selected by the Nicaraguan clubs CD Walter Ferretti and Diriangen FC for their first-round matches of the 2018 Scotiabank Concacaf League. 

On Wednesday, August 1, Diriangen FC will host Club Deportivo Universitario (PAN) at Estadio Eladio Rosabal Cordero, in Heredia, Costa Rica. The match is scheduled to kick off at 8:00 pm ET (6:00 pm local). The following week, Estadio Alejandro Morera Soto, in Alajuela, Costa Rica will host to the match between CD Walter Ferretti and Club Franciscain (MTQ). The match is scheduled for Wednesday, August 8, at 8:00 pm ET (6:00 pm local).

Following the decision made by the Concacaf Council on June 6, 2018, both Nicaraguan clubs were required to submit a proposal of alternate venues for their home matches versus Club Franciscain and Club Deportivo Universitario. Should either Nicaraguan club advance to the quarterfinals, those matches would also need to be played outside Nicaragua and those venues will be announced by Concacaf in due course.

The 2018 edition of the Concacaf League will be the second to feature the recently developed, action-packed knockout style competition. The home-and-away format will demand the highest level of performance from the participating clubs from the first kickoff, resulting in a quickly evolving competition with quarterfinals matches in July and August, followed by the semifinals in September and the finals in October and November.

The 2018 Scotiabank Concacaf League champion will earn a ticket to the 2019 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League, joining champion clubs that have qualified from across the region – including Canada, Mexico and the United States. In total, the expanded Concacaf club competitions platform – including the 2018 Scotiabank Concacaf League and the 2019 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League – will feature 31 clubs from across the Confederation.

***Press Release via Concacaf***

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.





Show Your Team Spirit

NEO Sports Insiders Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NEOSI newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Cleveland sports news.

Recent Comments


More in Soccer