Connect with us


Former Browns LB Clay Matthews Jr. Named a Finalist For the HOF Class of 2021

Browns legendary linebacker Clay Matthews Jr. has finally made it, as Wednesday it was announced that he has been selected as a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021.

Matthews is one of 15 Modern-Era finalists for the Class of 2021. It’s the fourth time he’s made it to this stage since 2012.

The 15 finalists will be up for debate on January 19th when the Hall’s Selection Committee will have a virtual meeting.

The group will select up to five finalists, and they must receive at least 80 percent of the vote from the committee’s members.

Along with Matthews Jr. also on the list are quarterback Peyton Manning, wide receiver Calvin Johnson, defensive back Charles Woodson and defensive end Jared Allen, all being selected in their first years of eligibility.

Here’s the entire list as announced Tuesday evening by the NFL:

Jared Allen, DE – 2004-2007 Kansas City Chiefs, 2008-2013 Minnesota Vikings, 2014-2015 Chicago Bears, 2015 Carolina Panthers
Ronde Barber, DB – 1997-2012 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Tony Boselli, T — 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars, 2002 Houston Texans (injured reserve)
LeRoy Butler, S — 1990-2001 Green Bay Packers
Alan Faneca, G — 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals
Torry Holt, WR — 1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars
Calvin Johnson, WR – 2007-2015 Detroit Lions
John Lynch, FS — 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos
Peyton Manning, QB – 1998-2011 Indianapolis Colts, 2012-2015 Denver Broncos
Clay Matthews, LB – 1978-1993 Cleveland Browns, 1994-1996 Atlanta Falcons
Sam Mills, LB — 1986-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-97 Carolina Panthers
Richard Seymour, DE/DT — 2001-08 New England Patriots, 2009-2012 Oakland Raiders
Zach Thomas, LB — 1996-2007 Miami Dolphins, 2008 Dallas Cowboys
Reggie Wayne, WR — 2001-2014 Indianapolis Colts
Charles Woodson, DB – 1998-2005, 2013-2015 Oakland Raiders, 2006-2012 Green Bay Packers

Matt Loede has been a part of the Cleveland Sports Media for over 21 years, with experience covering Major League Baseball, National Basketball Association, the National Football League and even high school and college events. He has been a part of the Cleveland Indians coverage since the opening of Jacobs/Progressive Field in 1994, and spent two and a half years covering the team for 92.3 The Fan, and covers them daily for Associated Press Radio. You can follow Matt on Twitter HERE.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.





Show Your Team Spirit

NEO Sports Insiders Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NEOSI newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Cleveland sports news.

Recent Comments


More in Browns