Connect with us


MAC Announces Men’s Basketball ALL-MAC, All Freshman & All Defensive Teams

The Following Press Release is Per Jeremy Guy
Assistant Commissioner for Communications & Social Media
Mid-American Conference


MAC Announces Men’s Basketball All-MAC, All-Freshman & All-Defensive Teams

Kent State’s Jimmy Hall was named to this year’s All-MAC first team, marking the third consecutive season that the senior has been selected for the honor. The last student-athlete to garner three straight first team selections was Buffalo’s Javon McCrea (2012-14). Joining Hall on the 2016-17 First Team is Akron’s Isaiah Johnson, Central Michigan’s Marcus Keene, Ohio’s Jaaron Simmons & Western Michigan’s Thomas Wilder. This marks the second straight season that Johnson has been named to the First Team, while Simmons & Wilder were second team selections last season.


The All-MAC Second Team featured Akron’s Kwan Cheatham Jr., Ball State’s Tayler Persons, Buffalo’s Blake Hamilton, Eastern Michigan’s James Thompson IV & Toledo’s Steve Taylor Jr. Wilder was named to the All-Freshman Team last season. This marks back-to-back years that Thompson has been named to the second-team, while UB’s Hamilton received third team honors last season.

All-MAC Third Team honors went to Ball State’s Franko House, Central Michigan’s Braylon Rayson, Northern Illinois’ Marin Maric, Toledo’s Jonathan Williams & Western Michigan’s Tucker Haymond. Rayson, Maric & Williams were each named to the third team last season as well.


Rounding out this year’s team as Honorable Mentions were Akron’s Antino Jackson, Bowling Green’s Zack Denny, Buffalo’s C.J. Massinburg, Miami’s Michael Weathers & Ohio’s Jordan Dartis. Massinburg and Dartis were both named to the All-Freshman Team last season.


The MAC All-Freshman Team was made up of Bowling Green’s Dylan Frye, Miami’s Weathers, Northern Illinois’ Eugene German, Ohio’s Jason Carter and Western Michigan’s Reggie Jones.


The second annual All-Defensive Team was made up of Ball State’s Trey Moses, BGSU’s Denny, Buffalo’s Dontay Caruthers, Eastern Michigan’s Tim Bond & Kent State’s Deon Edwin.




2016-17 Men’s Basketball All-MAC First Team

Isaiah Johnson, C, Akron, Senior

Marcus Keene, G, Central Michigan, Junior

Jimmy Hall, F, Kent State, Senior

Jaaron Simmons, G, Ohio, Junior

Thomas Wilder, G, Western Michigan, Junior


2016-17 Men’s Basketball All-MAC Second Team

Kwan Cheatham Jr., F, Akron, Senior

Tayler Persons, G, Ball State, Sophomore

Blake Hamilton, Wing, Buffalo, Senior

James Thompson IV, F, Eastern Michigan, Sophomore

Steve Taylor Jr., F, Toledo, Senior


2016-17 Men’s Basketball All-MAC Third Team

Franko House, F, Ball State, Senior

Braylon Rayson, G, Central Michigan, Senior

Marin Maric, C, Northern Illinois, Senior

Jon Williams, G, Toledo, Senior

Tucker Haymond, F, Western Michigan, Senior


2016-17 Men’s Basketball All-MAC Honorable Mention

Antino Jackson, G, Akron, Junior

Zack Denny, G, Bowling Green, Senior

C.J. Massinburg, G, Buffalo, Sophomore

Michael Weathers, G, Miami, Freshman

Jordan Dartis, G, Ohio, Sophomore


2016-17 MAC All-Defensive Team

Trey Moses, C, Ball State, Sophomore

Zack Denny, G, Bowling Green, Senior

Dontay Caruthers, G, Buffalo, Sophomore

Tim Bond, G/F, Eastern Michigan, Junior

Deon Edwin, F, Kent State, Senior


2016-17 MAC All-Freshman Team

Michael Weathers, G, Miami

Jason Carter, F, Ohio

Reggie Jones, G, Western Michigan

Dylan Frye, G, Bowling Green

Eugene German, G, Northern Illinois


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.





Show Your Team Spirit

NEO Sports Insiders Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NEOSI newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Cleveland sports news.

Recent Comments


More in MAC