Connect with us


Cleveland State Vikings Guard Rob Edwards Named to Horizon League All-Freshman Team

CLEVELAND – Cleveland State guard Rob Edwards has been named to the Horizon League All-Freshman team as voted on by the League coaches, sports information directors and select media. The League office announced the postseason awards on Tuesday afternoon.

Edwards leads the team and ranks 16th in the League in scoring (12.5 ppg), 10th in steals (1.1) and 11th in free throw percenage (.752), while adding 3.8 rebounds and 1.5 assists per game. He has started 29 games this year, the second most for a freshman at CSU and just one shy of tying the record, while his 959 minutes played are the most in a season for a freshman in program history.

A three-time Horizon League Freshman of the Week, Edwards has four 20-point games this year, including a career-high 26 points at Detroit in January. In a win over Cedarville in December, Edwards scored 21 points, hitting all five of his three-pointers to become just the second player in school history to be perfect from three-point with a minimum of five attempts.

A member of the Cancun Challenge Mayan Division All-Tournament team in November, Edwards has scored 386 points this year, needing 14 more to become just the fifth freshman in CSU history to reach 400 points.

Edwards and the ninth-seeded Vikings open play in the Horizon League Championship with a first round game against fourth-seeded Green Bay on Saturday (March 5) at 12:00 pm at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit.

2015-16 Horizon League Postseason Awards

All-League First Team
Kay Felder, Oakland
Alec Peters, Valparaiso
Paris Bass Detroit
Matt Tiby, Milwaukee
Carrington Love, Green Bay

All-League Second Team

Jalen Hayes, Oakland
Cameron Morse, Youngstown State
Jordan Fouse, Green Bay
Jordan Johnson, Milwaukee
Dikembe Dixson, UIC

All-Freshman Team
Dikembe Dixson, UIC
Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky
Rob Edwards, Cleveland State
Josh McFolley, Detroit
Jordan Andrews, Youngstown State

All-Defensive Team
Vashil Fernandez, Valparaiso
Jordan Fouse, Green Bay
Tai Odiase, UIC
Joe Thomasson, Wright State
Carrington Love, Green Bay

Player of the Year:
Kay Felder, Oakland
Coach of the Year: Bryce Drew, Valparaiso
Freshman of the Year: Dikembe Dixson, UIC
Defensive Player of the Year: Vashil Fernandez, Valparaiso
Sixth Man of the Year: Max Hooper, Oakland

Matt Loede has been a part of the Cleveland Sports Media for over 21 years, with experience covering Major League Baseball, National Basketball Association, the National Football League and even high school and college events. He has been a part of the Cleveland Indians coverage since the opening of Jacobs/Progressive Field in 1994, and spent two and a half years covering the team for 92.3 The Fan, and covers them daily for Associated Press Radio. You can follow Matt on Twitter HERE.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.





Show Your Team Spirit

NEO Sports Insiders Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NEOSI newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Cleveland sports news.

Recent Comments


More in Main