Connect with us


Browns QB Baker Mayfield Named Rookie of the Year by the PFWA

Browns first overall pick Baker Mayfield was honored on Tuesday by the Pro Football Writers of America, as he was selected as their NFL Rookie of the Year.

New York Giants running back Saquon Barkley and Indianapolis Colts linebacker Darius Leonard were named the PFWA offensive and defensive rookies of the year, respectively.

Mayfield though won the biggest award, taking home the honors after leading the Browns back from a mark of 2-6-1 to end the season at 7-8-1, challenging for a playoff spot in the last few weeks.

On the year Mayfield went 6-7 as a starter, throwing 27 touchdowns with 14 interceptions.

The QB went 310-of-486 passing (63.8 percent) for 3,725 yards with a QB rating of 93.7, and he also broke the NFL single-season rookie record for TD passes, held by Peyton Manning.

Mayfield’s rating of 115.7 in the red zone ranked second in the NFL last year behind only Saints QB Drew Brees.

Matt Loede has been a part of the Cleveland Sports Media for over 21 years, with experience covering Major League Baseball, National Basketball Association, the National Football League and even high school and college events. He has been a part of the Cleveland Indians coverage since the opening of Jacobs/Progressive Field in 1994, and spent two and a half years covering the team for 92.3 The Fan, and covers them daily for Associated Press Radio. You can follow Matt on Twitter HERE.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Show Your Team Spirit

NEO Sports Insiders Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NEOSI newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Cleveland sports news.

Recent Comments


More in Browns